• New York has transitioned from state standards to the Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS).  Students in grades 3-12 received an intentional introduction to the Common Core standards beginning with the 2011-12 school year.  In 2014-15, all ELA and math teachers will only teach Common Core.

    The Common Core State Standards:

    • are aligned with college and work expectations.
    • include rigorous content and application of knowledge through high-order skills.
    • build upon strengths and  lessons of current state standards.
    • are internationally benchmarked.
    • are evidence and/or research-based.

    The Common Core Learning Standards will:
    • help prepare all students with the knowledge and skills needed to succeed in college and careers.
    • assist students who move between states.
    • create the opportunity for America to compete for high-wage, high-skill jobs in a knowledge-based economy.
    • allow for more focused pre-service education and professional development.
    • create economies of scale around areas such as curriculum, instructional resources, and assessment.

    Click on link below to view 5th Grade Core Learning Standards.